Supporting Social and Emotional Development

I watched this video on Social and Emotional Competence this morning and thought it was lovely. I admit, it brought tears to my eyes. It is so important to see good examples of adults working with young children and their families. The video really brings home the big ideas I want for my students – that building relationships matters and this is a process we need to thoughtfully pursue.

The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning has a website with amazing resources like the video above. There are toolkits, handouts, and videos – very helpful!

I found this site through an e-newsletter that I receive called “Natural Resources”. Camille Catlett from the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute manages the newsletter and she sends an amazing resource every single Wednesday. I use them all the time in my classes and in my own thinking.

To sign up to receive the Natural Resources newsletter:

Send an email to listserv@unc.edu with a blank Subject line.

The text of the message must be:

subscribe natural_resources2 (retype it; don’t copy/paste)
Be sure the Subject is blank. Then Send the message.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

